VS2015 crash when deploying app to device (Windows10anniversary)

I encountered a new problem deploying an app from Visual Studio 2015 to my windows phone 8.1 hardware device. I didnt have this problem before updating to the anniversary edition of windows 10.

when i deployed the app, VS crashed after building and after starting deployment.

I searched a bit and found that there seems to be new settings in the developer settings page. I tried to enable “device discovery” from my standard user account but it failed.

I had to open an administrator account, go to settings>update&security>for developers, and then windows automatically downloaded a developer package. then i needed to restart before i could enable “device discovery”. when i returned to my standard account, device discovery was enabled and i could deploy to my device without VS2015 crashing, and it worked fine again.

VS2015 crash when deploying app to device (Windows10anniversary)

Leave a Reply

